JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria

Here below are the JEE Advanced 2017 eligibility criteria that an applicant must fulfill in order to be eligible to give the examination:

  • The candidate should be among the top 1,50,000 students (all the categories included) in JEE (Main).
  • The percentage required for various categories is as below:
    5% for general (from the common rank list), 27% score for OBC-NCL, 15% score for SC and 7.5% score for ST. Please note, within each of these four categories, 3% score horizontal reservation is available for PwD candidates. Also, PwD category includes Dyslexic candidates.

Distribution according to Category

CATEGORYNumber of “Top” candidates
GEN73,478Total 75,750
OBC-NCL39,285Total 40,500
SC21,825Total 22,500
ST10,912Total 11,250

JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria

  • Age limit: The date of birth (year and month) of the candidate should be after October 1, 1991 if belonging to GEN or OBC-NCL category and on or after October 1, 1986 if belonging to the SC, ST or PwD category.
  • Number of attempts: A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) only two times and that too only if he /she attempts it in consecutive years. JEE (Advanced) 2017 should be either the candidate’s 1st attempt or the 2nd consecutive attempt.
  • The candidate should NOT have taken admission in the past (whether or not he/she continued the program) or even accepted the admission by paying the admission fee at any of the IITs or ISM. Also the candidates whose admission was cancelled in the past are NOT eligible to give the test. The candidates who have been admitted to a preparatory course in any of the IITs in 2015 can appear for JEE (Advanced) 2017.
  • The candidate should have appeared for class 12 examination for the 1st time in all the subjects in either 2015 or 2017.
  • The candidates who appeared for the first time in their Class 12 in 2014 or earlier are not eligible, but the candidates whose Board results for the academic year 2013-14 were declared after June 2014 can appear for JEE (Advanced) 2017.

Note: The above eligibility criteria’s must be fulfilled. Failing to do so will lead to disqualification or cancellation of applicant’s candidature.

Check out JEE Main 2017 Registration Online Process

Get Latest Updates on this article

Quick Links for JEE Advanced 2017 Exam

6 thoughts on “JEE Advanced 2017 Eligibility Criteria

  1. […] = "3034384395"; google_ad_width = 300; google_ad_height = 250; JEE Advanced Entrance Exam JEE Advanced Eligibility Criteria JEE Advanced Exam Pattern JEE Advanced Admit […]

  2. kapil kumar says:

    i am appeared in jee mains in 2015 but not in adv and appeared in jee adv 2016am i eligible in jee adv 2017 and i am present in nit

  3. Rabi kumar shaw says:

    i have pssed the t 10th exam in 2012 and 12th in 2015 so can i participate in jee advance 2016 ??

  4. kumar vishal says:

    i have taken admission in NIT Jamshedpur 2015, can i
    participate in jee mains nd advance of 2016???

  5. sanjay kumar says:

    i have taken taken admission in NIT in 2015. Am i eligible to sit in JEE Advance in 2016

  6. Atharv Singh says:

    sir i have scored 80.6% in class 12th examination in 2015, and i have an aggregate 75% in pcm, but i have only 60 marks in mathematics, am i eligible for jee mains and advanced 2016?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *