Impact of Class 12 Marks in JEE Main 2019

18 Oct, 2018
Impact of Class 12 Marks in JEE Main 2019

Once we have overcome this hurdle, we are constantly under pressure to do our best in grades 11 and 12 because these are to determine the college in which we are admitted. After the 12th place we still have to pull up our socks and work hard to clear the entrance exams. Once these tests are passed and the results are available, the fight ends at least for a short time. JEE Main is a test of real perseverance and knowledge based on hard training. It not only tests your patience, concepts and ability to manage time effectively, but also consistency over a year or two. A good rank in JEE Main can be packed into boards with a good score in JEE Main along with a pretty good percentage.

Scores in boards are irrelevant in JEE Advanced. With a new pattern, you only need to earn more than 75% or get in the top 20%. But it plays a role in the JEE leader-boards, it is calculated on the basis of the percentile in boards. 40% of the grades are awarded in percentile and 60% in JEE main score. If you’re capable of cracking advanced, then boards do not matter, but to get a good NIT, IIT class 12 marks also play a vital role.

JEE Main 2019 Normalization Process: 12th Scores

    Meanwhile JEE Main 2019 will be conducted on various days and sessions, the issue of equivalence of the different questionnaires comes to the fore. It is likely that some candidates will get a hard paper while others will become easy. To ensure that no candidate is disadvantaged or profited from, the normalization of the scores achieved in JEE Main 2019 is enforced for ranking purposes. NTA will rate students based on their percentile scores, which are calculated according to a given formula.

    Percentile Score denotes the percentage of aspirants who have reached or fallen below a certain percentile in an exam. It is the normalized score, not the raw score. After normalization, each session’s topper receives the same percentile of 100, which is desirable. Also, the scores between the lowest and highest scores are also converted to the corresponding percentiles. Percentages are based on the comparative performance of all aspirants appearing for the exam. It is got after the ratings have been transformed to a scale ranging from 100 to 0 for each examination session.

    When two or more applicants obtain identical Percentile Scores then positioning will be as follows

    • Aspirants who acquire Percentile Score in Mathematics will be graded higher
    • Applicants who get Percentile Score in Physics will be ordered higher
    • Applicants who get Percentile Score in Chemistry will be graded higher
    • The senior aspirant will be ranked higher 
    • In case if the tie is still unsettled, the same rank will be allotted to the aspirants

    JEE Main 2019: Understanding the Existing Policy

    Under the current policy, the JEE-Main score exam marks are granted a weightage of 40%.

    On the other hand, for candidates to be eligible in the JEE exam, they must earn at least 75% of the score or be in the top 20% percentile of the 12th grade exam conducted by their corresponding boards. Still, there is always the possibility that this regulation will not apply to the following academic year. But since this is a new directive implemented by the Ministry of Human Resources Development, it is improbable to be changed after just two years of putting into practice. But aspirants should always consider the opportunity that the percentage of the board exam could affect their admissions as they will have to secure 75% anyhow.

    40% of the marks are remarkable. But it works both ways, if you score 200+ in JEE Main, but reach about 90% in CBSE board, you can end up with a 10-15K AIR. The weighting was given so that the candidates do not take the boards lightly. But in many cases it has led to a decline in the thought process among aspirants, as most of the time is spent memorizing the NCERT curriculum. The grading from the normalization process is used for admissions to NITs, IIITs and GFTIs.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here