Sanction of 20 additional JNVs in districts with more SC/ST candidates.

Those districts that have a higher concentration of SC and ST population will now shortly be having 20 additional Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas  as the government is granting sanctions to it .

The HRD Minister Smriti Irani stated that “The government has granted the sanction for 20 supplementary Jawahar Navodaya Vidyalayas (JNVs) in those districts that have a large concentration of SC/ST population and two more JNVs in the state of Manipur as a special case.”

This step will aid in the promotion of education in the rural areas of India

The JNV scheme is for the purpose of providing for the opening up of one JNV in each district in the country. Of the 628 districts that are currently present in India an on the 15th of April 2012, the JNVs have been sanctioned in 576 districts that’s located in 35 states and UTs with the exception of Tamil Nadu.”

Irani also stated during the Question Hour that of the remaining 52 districts, 6 districts have no such rural population and thus JNVs are necessary to be opened in the remaining districts.

In a reply to one of the queries addressed to her she said that the opening of new Kendriya Vidyalayas (KVs) and JNVs was an ongoing and continuous process which is de3pendent of both the availability of the funds transferred and the inclination of the concerned state governments to make avail of appropriate and requisite land free of cost for the construction of the school buildings.

Smriti Irani stated that currently there is no such proposal to increase the number of seats in the existing KVs as the Infrastructure available of the schools was being completely utilized.

The minister stated that as on date there are 1,119 KVs panning the country and during the year of 2013-2014 the government had approved the opening of 54 new KVs of which 27 KVs have already been made operational.

Smriti Irani claimed that “The remaining KVs have not been made functional so far, primarily due to non-transfer of requisite extent of land by the sponsoring authorities.”

Stay connected to keep updated.

Important Notifications
  • Apply online for B.Tech Programmes offered by Manipal UniversityClick here
  • Apply online for B.Tech Programmes offered by SRM UniversityClick here
  • Apply online for Btech, BBA, MBA or Mtech courses offered by Bennett UniversityClick here

Leave a Reply