B.Sc. Computer Science Course

13 Nov, 2017

B.Sc. Computer Science Course stands for Bachelor of Science (Computer Science), it is a Degree course which was started by the University of Mumbai looking at the increasing demand in IT sector.


The course covers all the important aspect in IT Field like Web designing, Java, Networking, creation and management of database and many others.

B.Sc. Computer Science is a three-year full time integrated course which one can perceive from any of the college or institution affiliated to the University of Mumbai (MU).

An applicant will be awarded the B.Sc. Computer Science degree if he successfully completes all the three years studies with minimum marks as demanded by the MU.

B.Sc. Computer Science Course details

Name of Course Bachelor of Science (Computer Science)
Commonly known as B.Sc. Computer Science
Conducting Authority Mumbai University
Course duration: 3 years
Minimum Eligibility HSC or equivalent passed with Mathematics
Stream Science

B.Sc. Computer Science Eligibility Criteria

Following mentioned are some of the criteria which are necessary for taking admission in Mumbai University or any institution affiliated to the same.

An applicant applying for the three years integrated course in B.Sc. Computer Science must full fill all the below mentioned criteria.

  • Applicant should have passed Higher Secondary School Certificate Examination from Maharashtra State Board of Secondary and Higher Secondary Education or recognised Institution.

Note: If applicant is from any other Board he or she needs to prove their eligibility by getting eligibility certificate issued by Eligibility Section of University of Mumbai

  • Maths and Statistics as one of the subject or its equivalent in HSC Board.

Admission for B.Sc. Computer Science

Admission to the candidate would be on the basis of:

  • Aggregate Marks scored at H.S.C. or equivalent.
  • Marks in Mathematics and Statistics and Physics.
  • Marks in Mathematics and Statistics.
  • Aggregate Marks in Science Group (Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics)

All the mentioned thing would be counted in granting admission

B.Sc. Computer Science Syllabus

B.Sc. Computer Science CourseMentioned below is the syllabus for the three years integrated course in B.Sc. Computer Science as prescribed by the Mumbai University….

As the three years, the integrated course is further divided into papers. The first year comprises of Paper I and Paper II and as continue…

Syllabus of Ist Year – Bachelor of Science (BSc) of University of Mumbai

Paper I

Section 1 – Computer Organisation

Section 2 – Ms-Windows and Ms-office

Paper II

Section 1 – Programming techniques and Algorithms through C

Section 2 – Networking and Internet fundamentals

Syllabus of IInd Year – Bachelor of Science (BSc) of University of Mumbai

Paper I

Section 1 – Data structures with advanced C

Section 2 – Event drive programming using Visual Basic

Paper II

Section 1 – Numerical Analysis of “C”

Section 2 – Introduction to Java

Paper III

Section 1 – Introduction to file and Database Management Systems

Section 2 – Principles of Rational Database Management System

Syllabus of III rd Year – Bachelor of Science (BSc) of University of Mumbai

Paper I

Section 1 – System Software

Section 2 – Data Communication and Networking

Paper II

Section 1 – Advanced Java 1

Section 2 – Advanced Java 2

Paper III

Section 1 – Operating Systems

Section 2 – The Linux OS

Paper IV

Section 1 – Structured System Analysis and Design

Section 2 – Object Oriented Analysis and Design and Software Engineering Concepts

Applied Components: Web Design and Applications

Paper I – Principles of Web Design

Paper II – Web Technologies

Best B.Sc. Computer Science Colleges in Mumbai

Mentioned below are the names of some top colleges offering B.Sc. Computer Science degree affiliated with Mumbai University.

Name of College Location
D.G. Ruparel College Mahim
Hindi Vidya Prachar Samiti’s Ramniranjan Jhunjhunwala College Ghatkopar West
Mithibai College of Arts, Vile Parle West
Chauhan Institute of Science & Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce & Economics Vile Parle West
New English Junior College Thane
R. D. National College & W. A. Science College Bandra West
S.K. Somaiya College of Arts, Science & Commerce Ghatkopar East
St. Paul’s College Pant Nagar
Wilson College Grant Road



    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here